Welcome to The Local Government Finance Commission Website

Welcome to The Local Government Finance Commission Website

The Local Government Finance Commission (LGFC) is an autonomous arm of government responsible for advising central and local governments on issues of fiscal decentralisation.

The Commission is established under Article 194 of the 1995 Constitution and has been operational since February 1995 following an official launch by Hon. Bidandi Ssali, the then Minister of Local Government.

The Commission is constituted by seven members appointed by the President; four of which are nominated by the District Councils (3) and Urban Councils (1). The other three are nominated by the Minister responsible for Local Governments in consultation with the Minister responsible for Finance, Planning and Economic Development.

The Commission is serviced by a secretariat organised in two departments, namely central grants and local revenue on the one hand (comprising of economists and statisticians) and administration on the other. There are currently 38 staff members in the secretariat headed by a Commission Secretary.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *